Trinity Terms

Eastern Traditions link a different trinity with each of the main worlds such that there may be up to 6 trinities.
In the Christian tradition, the Trinity consists of three gods in one: God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit (traditionally also called God the Holy Ghost). The idea of a trinity predates Christain times. In China in the Taoist Tradition it is called the 3 Pure Ones. In India it is called the trimurti. St. Augustine’s monumental work, "De Trinitate," laying down the framework of Catholic theology on the mystery of the Three Divine Persons in One God, had entitled all religious Orders following St. Augustine’s Rule to the special protection of the Blessed Trinity. http://www.fethard.com/research/statues.html
The 1689 Second London Baptist Confession states in Chapter 2: Of God and Of the Holy Trinity, section 3 the following:

3. In this divine and infinite Being there are three subsistences, the Father, the Word or Son, and Holy Spirit[1], of one substance, power, and eternity, each having the whole divine essence, yet the essence undivided:[2] the Father is of none, neither begotten nor proceeding; the Son is eternally begotten of the Father; the Holy Spirit[3] proceeding from the Father and the Son; all infinite, without beginning, therefore but one God, who is not to be divided in nature and being, but distinguished by several peculiar relative properties and personal relations[4]; which doctrine of the Trinity is the foundation of all our communion with God, and comfortable dependence on him.[5]
( 1 John 5:7; Matthew 28:19; 2 Corinthians 13:14; Exodus 3:14; John 14:11; 1 Corinthians 8:6; John 1:14,18; John 15:26; Galatians 4:6 )



New articles