4 Seasons Terms

In the Celtic system the four seasons were aligned with Cross Quarter Points. The modern Western year has four seasons of Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter which were subsequently adjusted to align with the Solstices and Equinoxes, and hence the Cardinal Directions. A Chinese system has the sequence Winter, Spring, Summer, Autumn to correspond to 4 Phases of Day. Earlier sytems had 2 seasons, 3 seasons or 6 seasons.

New articles