4 Guardians of Night Sky: Japan

Yje four Guardians of the Night Sky are also called Shishin or Shijin (Japanese); Four Guardians of the Compass; Celestial Emblems of Chinese Emperor.

In Japan the 4 guardians are:
Seiryu the Blue Dragon Spring East
Suzaku the Red Bird Summer South
Byakko the White Tiger Autumn West
Genbu the Black Tortoise or Warrior Winter North

They are related to the 4 guardians in China:
Qinlong Green Dragon Eastern Quarter of the Sky
Xuanwu Black Warrior Northern Quarter of the Sky
Baihu White Tiger Western Quarter of the Sky
Zhuque Zhuniao Red Rice Sparrow, Red Bird Southern Quarter of Sky


New articles