Manas is Mind (Latin: Mens), which deals with cases where there is doubt, as opposed to Buddhi, where there is no doubt.
It is thus divided into 2: Manas Buddhi
It is divided into 3: Manas Buddhi Ahamkara
It is divided into 4: manas buddhi ahaMkAra citta
It is also divided into 5 manas buddhi ahaMkAra citta brahman
Cf. the 5 Lights of Bon.
In the system of 36 tattvas manas becomes:
16. Manas-Tattva: The Lower Mind (as opposed to the Intellect or Higher Mind) whereby the Soul selects sense perceptions out of the general sense data, builds them into intelligible images, names and classifies them and presents them to the higher levels of the mind for further processing. In modern parlance it subdivides into Sensory-Motor Perception Thinking Vritis Concentration Distraction http://www.yoga.net.au/mind
Lake Manasa Akasha, Vayu, Tejas, Apas, Prithvi, Buddhi, Manas antaHkaraNa, manas, buddhi, citta, ahaMkAra Asuddha Tattva 04: Manas Atma, Buddhi, Manas Atman, Buddhi, Manas Atman, Buddhi, Manas, Kama, Prana, Linga. Sarira, Sthula-Sarira brahmaNaspati Buddhi - Manas Buddhi, Ahamkara, Manas Buddhi, Ahamkara, Manas, Citta Buddhi, Manas, Chitta, Ahamkara Candramanas citta, ahamkara, buddhi, manas Constituent 2: Manas jiva, manas, ahamkara kala, dik, manas, atma ksetrajiia, jiva, manas, ahamkara Lower Manas Manas Manas Chakra Manas, Buddhi, Ahamkara, Citta Manas, Mantri, Prana, Nara, Pana, Vinirbhaya, Naya, Dansa, Narayana, Vrisha, Prabhu MAnasa manasija Manaslu Manasovar Manasputra Manasvin Manasyu paramatma, jivatma, manas, aham Primary Matter 04: Manas Principle 3. Manas (Mind) Human Soul prithvi, apa, agni, vayu, kham, manas, buddhi, ahamkara prithvi, apas, vayu, tejas, kham-akasa, buddhi, manas, ahamkara pRthivi, ap, tejas, vAyu, AkAza, kAla, diz, Atman, manas Sound, Touch, Sight, Taste, Smell, Manas, Hands, Voice Vedanta Organ 11: Manas

New articles