Amsa is a division. The moon has 4 divisions or padas per Nakshatra. The sun has 9 divisions or navamsas per Rasi (Zodiac sign). 1. Amsa (the share of the gods) Moon Surya
Cologne Sanskrit Dictionary
aMsa m. the shoulder , shoulder-blade ; corner of a quadrangle N. of a king ; ({au}) m. du. the two shoulders or angles of an altar a share (for {aMza}) ; [cf. Goth. {amsa} ; Gk. $ , $ ; Lat. {humerus}, 1 ,2] {ansa}.]

New articles