5 Properties of Day

There are 5 angas (properties):
1. the tithi active at sunrise
2. the vaasara or weekday
3. the nakshatra in which the moon resides at sunrise
4. the yoga active at sunrise
5. the karana active at sunrise.
Each of these is called a property (anga). Together these are called the pancha-s where pancha means five in Sanskrit. An explanation of the terms follows.

New articles