12 Bodies of Brahma

12 Bodies or Attributes of Brahma

According to the Aitareya-Brahmana, Brahma as Prajapati (lord of beings) manifests himself first of all as twelve bodies or attributes, which are represented by the twelve gods, symbolizing
1) fire
2) the sun
3) soma, which gives omniscience
4) all living beings
5) vayu, or ether
6) death, or breath of destruction -- Siva
7) earth
8) heaven
9) Agni, the immaterial fire
10) Aditya, the immaterial and invisible sun
11) mind
12) the great infinite cycle, 'which is not to be stopped.' Brahma in one of his phases therefore is the visible universe, every atom of which is essentially himself.