kavarga is one of the 7 divisions ( 7 vargas) of the Sanskrit alphabet.
In the solar calendar it corresponds to Libra (Tula).
The first 5 consonants are linked with the 5 elements and become
essential elements
(tattvas 32-36)
क ख ग घ ङ
ka kha ga gha na
Consonant 1 2 3 4 5
Element Earth Water Fire Air Space
Tattva 32 33 34 35 36
kavarga -cavarga (q.v.) are linked. Cologne Sanksrit Dictionary kavarga. m. the gutturals (of which {ka} is the first letter) TPrat. Siddh. (cf. {varga}.) 31 kavarga m. the class of guttural letters TPrat. (cf. {varga}.)