Aleph, He, Heth, Yodh, Ayin, Waw, Ayin

1 5 8 10 16 6
  • Phoinikea grammata or Kadmeia grammata
  • the Phoenician consonants ALEPH, HE, HETH, YODH, AYIN and WAW became the Greek vowels: ALPHA, EPSILON, ETA, IOTA, OMICRON and UPSILON
  • five new signs added after TAU: upsilon, phi, chi, psi, and omega
  • the Ionian (eastern) alphabet had 24 letters when officially adopted by the city of Athens in 403 BCE
    Phoenician Aleph, He, Heth, Yodh, Ayin, Waw, Ayin
    Hebrew Aleph Heh
    Greek Alpha, Epsilon, Eta, Iota, Omicron, Upsilon, Omega                   
    chou, hai, gong, ji yin wu Yin
    It is thought that Phoenician had the short vowels /a/, /i/, /u/ and the long vowels /aː/, /iː/, /uː/, /eː/, /oː/.[11][17] The Proto-Semitic diphthongs /aj/ and /aw/ are realized as /eː/ and /oː/; this must have happened earlier than in Biblical Hebrew, because the resultant long vowels are not marked with the semi-vowel letters (bēt "house" was written bt in contrast to Biblical Hebrew byt).